AI-search visibility platform: tracks brand mentions in AI answers and writes articles to win them
Balzac vs Promptwatch
Promptwatch lists Essential, Professional and Business at $95, $245 and $579 a month for 50, 150 and 350 tracked prompts; Balzac researches, writes and publishes 30 articles a month for $79. Checked against promptwatch.com on 9 October 2026.
If you are comparing Promptwatch alternatives, note first that it is mostly a different product: a monitor of AI answers, with a content writer attached. Everything about Promptwatch below comes from its public pricing page as of 9 October 2026; tell us if something has changed and we will fix it.
Promptwatch tracks whether and how your brand is mentioned and cited in ChatGPT, Gemini, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity and other assistants, which it says it does by collecting what those interfaces show. Its monthly plans are Essential at $95 for 50 prompts, 6,000 responses, 1 project and 4 models; Professional at $245 for 150 prompts, 2 projects and a knowledge base; and Business at $579 for 350 prompts, 5 projects, state and city tracking and an ads radar. Essential lists no AEO articles; Professional and Business list them, and the page did not show how many. It lists WordPress, Webflow, Framer, Slack and Google Search Console integrations without saying which plan has which, and MCP and API access on Essential. There is a monthly and an annual toggle; we read the monthly prices.
Balzac is narrower: it researches the searches you could win, writes the articles and publishes them on a schedule you set, in a fixed allowance of 30 articles a month per website on the Columnist plan, and refreshes live articles that rank in positions 8 to 20 using your Search Console data. It does not track mentions in AI answers.
On price, Balzac is cheaper than every Promptwatch plan: $79 a month against $95. And the Essential plan writes no articles, so it is not like for like.
On trying it, Promptwatch offers a 7-day free trial; we did not see whether a card is needed, or a refund policy. Balzac writes 3 full articles for free with no card, and paid plans come with a 30-day money-back guarantee on the first payment.
Balzac
- $79 a month against $95, and 30 published articles where Essential writes none
- Publishes on a schedule to WordPress, Webflow, Wix, GoHighLevel or a webhook
- Refreshes live articles that rank in positions 8 to 20 using your Search Console data
- A free trial of 3 full articles with no card, and a 30-day money-back guarantee
Where Promptwatch fits
- Tracking of your brand, citations and competitors in AI answers, which Balzac does not offer
- Shopping insights and an ads radar on Business, which Balzac does not offer
- Country, state and city-level tracking, and multiple projects
- A 7-day free trial, and an agent that works from what AI actually cites
Side by side
Feature comparison
| Feature | Balzac | Promptwatch |
|---|---|---|
| How you use it | Autopilot: researches, writes and publishes on a schedule | Dashboard: tracks AI answers; agents and article writer on top |
| Output per month | 30 published articles per website | None on Essential; articles on Professional and Business, count not shown |
| Price | $79 a month (30 articles, 1 website) | $95 / $245 / $579 a month (monthly toggle) |
| Try before paying | 3 free articles, no card | 7-day free trial; card not stated |
| Money-back guarantee | 30 days, first payment | Not stated on the page we read |
| Publishing | WordPress, Webflow, Wix, GoHighLevel, webhook | WordPress, Webflow, Framer listed; plan not stated |
| Google Search Console | Connection; refreshes articles ranking in positions 8 to 20 | Listed as an integration; plan not stated |
| Picks the topics for you | Content gap analysis from what AI cites; you review | |
| AI-search visibility tracking | – | 50 / 150 / 350 prompts across ChatGPT, Gemini, AI Overviews, Perplexity and more |
| CLI, API and MCP server | MCP and API listed from Essential; CLI not seen |
Why teams switch
Pick Balzac if you want a steady stream of articles researched, written and published for $79 a month. Pick Promptwatch if you need to measure and manage your brand in AI answers first and writing comes second.
FAQ
Balzac vs Promptwatch, answered.
Is Balzac a good Promptwatch alternative?
Only for the writing. Promptwatch is built to measure your presence in AI answers; Balzac does not do that. If you need the articles researched, written and published, Balzac does that for $79 a month.
How does Balzac pricing compare to Promptwatch?
As of October 2026, Promptwatch lists Essential at $95 a month, Professional at $245 and Business at $579 on its monthly toggle, and Essential includes no articles. Balzac has one plan, Columnist, at $79 a month per website for 30 articles. Balzac is cheaper than Essential.
Does Promptwatch have a free trial?
It lists a 7-day free trial. We did not see whether a card is needed, and we did not find a refund policy on the page we read. Check promptwatch.com for its current terms.
Can I try Balzac before paying?
Yes. Balzac writes 3 full articles for your site for free, with no card. When you subscribe, the first payment is covered by a 30-day money-back guarantee: cancel within 30 days and get it back in full from the cancel page.
Compare Balzac with other tools
See what Balzac does for your site.
Type your website and Balzac finds your keyword opportunities in seconds.
3 free articles · No card needed